Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Сulture Literature

Belarus: at the origins of book printing

Belarusians have a special attitude towards books. Every year the country celebrates the Day of Writing at the highest level. On this day people always remember those who stood at the cradle of the Belarusian literature. The memory of the printing pioneer Francisk Skorina, educators Cyril of Turov and Simeon of Polotsk is immortalized in bronze.

Monument to the Belarusian enlightener Simeon Polotsky. Photo: Alfred Mikus

In the Belarusian Printing Museum in Polotsk you can see the unique manuscripts and printed books, dating back to immemorial time. A collection of manuscripts and early printed books is kept there. Ancient rarities are the pride of the museum. They include:

  • the famous Radziwill Chronicle — one of the most interesting historical records on Belarusian lands;
  • “The Gospel Instructive” (1595), published in the Vilnius printing house of the Mamonichi brothers;
  • The Venetian edition of “12 speeches” by Jerome Faletsky (1558);
  • The works by Horace published in 1803 in the Polotsk Jesuit printing house, and other equally interesting exhibits.

Incidentally, the largest collection of books in the Russian language outside the territory of Russia is kept in the National Library of Belarus.

The year 2012 proved to be rich in literary anniversaries: the 130th anniversary of the classics Yanka Kupala and Yakub Kolas, the 100th anniversary of Maxim Tank, the 95th anniversary since the birth of Pimen Panchenko and Yanka Bryl.

In Soviet times, the theme of war was the leading one in Belarusian literature. Vasil Bykov, Ales Adamovich, Svetlana Aleksievich — thanks to these writers the world knows about the most tragic pages of Belarusian history of the 20th century.

Works by Belarusian writers excite the minds of today's readers and the most severe judges – literary colleagues. In February 2012, six Belarusian writers were nominated for the Jerzy Giedroyc's Literature Award. In September the Belarusian Natalia Povalyaeva became the winner of the prestigious literary contest “A new children's book”, founded by the Russian publishing house “Rosman”. In October, the photo-album “Living Faith. Branch” of the publishing house “Belarusian Encyclopedia named after P.Brovka” was awarded second degree diploma in the category “Art Edition” of the best book contest at the 7th International Book Fair in Ashgabat.

«Where Kupala Slept» – book of Belarusian songs, sayings and proverbs, illustrated by the paintings of artist Anna Silivonchik

About 400 publishing houses, including 5 large state ones, are registered in Belarus today. The state funds the magazines “Polymya”, “Maladosts”, “Neman”, the “Maladyya Galasy” series. The achievements of the modern domestic publishing are annually demonstrated at the famous book fairs in Frankfurt, Kiev and Moscow. The works by the followers of Skorina are highly valued in the book world.

In 2017, when Belarus will mark the 500th anniversary of the Belarusian publishing, Minsk plans to host guests as the World Book Capital.

Language

Главная Культура Литература

Беларусь: у истоков книгопечатания

У белорусов особое отношение к книжному слову. Ежегодно на самом высоком уровне в стране отмечается День письменности. В торжествах по случаю праздника всегда вспоминают тех, кто стоял у истоков белорусской литературы. Память первопечатника Франциска Скорины, просветителей Кирилла Туровского и Симеона Полоцкого увековечена в бронзе.

Памятник белорусскому просветителю Симеону Полоцкому. Фото: Альфред Микус.

В полоцком Музее белорусского книгопечатания можно увидеть уникальные рукописные и печатные книги, дошедшие до нас с незапамятных времен. Здесь хранится коллекция рукописных и старопечатных книг. Древние раритеты – гордость музея:

  • знаменитые Радзивилловские летописи (хроники) – один из наиболее интересных исторических документов о белорусских землях;
  • «Евангелие учительное» 1595 года, выпущенное в Виленской типографии братьев Мамоничей;
  • Венецианское издание Иеронима Фалецкого «12 речей» 1558 года;
  • произведения Горация, изданные в 1803 году в Полоцкой иезуитской типографии, и другие, не менее интересные экземпляры.

Кстати, самое большое собрание книг на русском языке за пределами России собрано и хранится в Национальной библиотеке Республики Беларусь.

2012 год оказался богатым на литературные юбилеи: 130-летие классиков Янки Купалы и Якуба Коласа, 100 лет Максиму Танку, 95 лет со дня рождения Пимена Панченки и Янки Брыля.

В советское время ведущей в белорусской литературе была тема войны: Василь Быков, Алесь Адамович, Светлана Алексиевич – благодаря их творчеству мир знает о самых трагических страницах белорусской истории ХХ века.

Творчество белорусских писателей не оставляет равнодушными и сегодняшних читателей, и самых строгих судий – коллег по литературному цеху. В феврале 2012 года шесть белорусских писателей номинированы на литературную премию имени Ежи Гедройца. В сентябре белоруска Наталья Поваляева стала призером престижного литературного конкурса «Новая детская книга», учрежденного российским издательством «Росмэн». А в октябре на VII Международной книжной выставке-ярмарке в Ашхабаде в номинации «Художественное издание» конкурса на лучшее книжное издание диплом второй степени присужден книге-альбому «Живая вера. Ветка» издательства «Белорусская Энциклопедия им. П.Бровки».

«Где Купала ночевала» – книга белорусских песен, поговорок и пословиц, иллюстрированная картинами художницы Анны Силивончик.

Сегодня в Беларуси зарегистрировано около 400 издательств, в том числе пять крупных государственных. Государство финансирует выпуск журналов «Полымя», «Маладосць», «Нёман», серию «Маладыя галасы». Достижения современного отечественного книгоиздания ежегодно демонстрируются на знаменитых книжных ярмарках во Франкфурте, Москве и Киеве. Работы продолжателей дела Скорины высоко ценятся в книжном мире.

В 2017 году, когда Беларусь отметит 500-летие белорусского книгопечатания, Минск планирует принимать гостей в качестве всемирной столицы книги.