Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Economy and Business Country open to investors Natural resources

Natural resources

The Republic of Belarus does not have a massive mineral resource base, and in this regard, the country imports a large number of fuels and raw materials required for its facilities. But, nevertheless, the geological exploration works held in the country constantly restock its mineral resources.

At the moment, about 5 thousand deposits representing about 30 types of minerals were identified and explored in the depths of Belarus. In terms of the economy, the strategically important resources include potash and rock salts, oil, peat, construction materials and raw materials for their production, underground fresh and mineral water.

Fuel mineral resources of Belarus include oil, oil gas, peat, brown coal and combustible shale. A total of 52 oil fields are registered, of which about 30 are operated, and the rest belongs to the category of canned or explored. Despite the reserve of oil, associated gas, peat, brown coal, Belarus is unable to meet the demand for fuel resources from its own raw materials. The volume of oil production in the country amounts to only 12-13 % of the demand, and in the future this ratio will not change.

Mining chemical feedstock is represented by potash and rock salts, phosphates, saline brines. Potash salts are one of the most valuable natural resources of the depths of Belarus, in the amount of reserves of which the country occupies one of the first places in Europe. Extraction and processing of potash fertilizers into high-quality mineral fertilizers not only provides the country with an increase in crop yields, but is also a source of foreign exchange earnings through export of products. RUE “PA “Belaruskali” annually produces 28-32 million tons of potash ore, from which it produces about 4 million tons of potash fertilizers. The enterprise fully meets the needs of the internal market in manufactured products, and in considerable volume exports to countries to the former Soviet Union and other foreign countries.

Rock salt reserves are estimated as practically inexhaustible. They exceed 22 billion tons at three known deposits alone. 

Peat resources are considerably depleted due to intensive use at the previous stages of economic development of Belarus. If the total anticipated resources of peat are estimated at 3.0 billion tons, only 240 million tons are suitable for industrial production. The remaining reserves are within the protected areas or are part of the land fund.

Deposits of combustible shale in the south of Belarus form a large shale pool with an area of more than 20,000 km2. Combustible shale is considered as a potential resource base for the development of energy, chemical industry and the production of construction materials.

The territory of Belarus is prospective in ferrous and non-ferrous metals. Two iron ore deposits with a total reserve of category A+B+C1 amounting to 340 million tons, and probable reserves of 1.5 billion tons are open, their use will largely depend on the resolution of the fuel and energy problem in the country.

Belarus has a fairly rich mineral and raw material base for the production of construction materials. The most significant are deposits of raw cement, dolomite, chalk, building and decorative stone, clay for the manufacture of coarse ceramics and lightweight aggregates, silicate and construction sand, gravel and other materials. However, there is a shortage in glass sands, clays for the production of high-quality bricks.

The research and involvement of mineral groundwater in exploitation is being expanded. 58 mineral water springs with a total reserve of 14,320.8 m3 per day have been explored, 50 springs are being developed. Mineral water is used for health resort treatment, as well as sold through the trading network as mineral medicinal and table water.

Language

Главная Экономика и бизнес Страна, открытая для инвесторов Природные ресурсы

Природные ресурсы

Республика Беларусь не располагает внушительной минерально-сырьевой базой, и в связи с этим в страну импортируется большое количество необходимых для ее хозяйства видов топлива и сырья. Но, тем не менее, проводимые на территории страны геолого-разведочные работы постоянно пополняют запасы ее минеральных ресурсов. 

В настоящее время в недрах Беларуси выявлено и разведано почти 5 тыс. месторождений, представляющих около 30 видов минерального сырья. К стратегически важным ресурсам с точки зрения экономики страны относят калийные и каменные соли, нефть, торф, строительные материалы и сырье для их производства, подземные пресные и минеральные воды.

Топливные минеральные ресурсы Беларуси включают нефть, нефтяные газы, торф, бурый уголь и горючие сланцы. Всего учтено 52 месторождения нефти, из них около 30 эксплуатируются, а остальные относятся к категории разведываемых или законсервированных. Несмотря на наличие запасов нефти, попутного газа, торфа, бурого угля Беларусь не в состоянии удовлетворить потребности в топливных ресурсах за счет собственного сырья. Объем добычи нефти в стране составляет лишь 12–13% от потребности и в перспективе это соотношение не изменится. 

Добыча калийной солиГорно-химическое сырье представлено калийными и каменными солями, фосфоритами, минерализованными рассолами. Калийные соли относятся к наиболее ценным полезным ископаемым недр Беларуси, по промышленным запасам которых страна находится на одном из первых мест в Европе. Добыча и переработка калийных солей в высококачественные минеральные удобрения обеспечивают стране не только прирост урожайности сельскохозяйственных культур, но и являются одним из источников валютных поступлений за счет экспорта продукции. РУП «ПО «Беларуськалий» ежегодно добывает 28–32 млн т калийных руд, из которых производит около 4 млн т калийных удобрений. Предприятие полностью обеспечивает потребность внутреннего рынка в производимой продукции и в значительном объеме осуществляет экспортные поставки в страны дальнего и ближнего зарубежья.

Запасы каменной соли оцениваются как практически неисчерпаемые. Только на трех разведанных месторождениях они превышают 22 млрд т. 

Торфяные ресурсы значительно истощены вследствие интенсивного использования на предыдущих этапах экономического развития Беларуси. Если общие прогнозные ресурсы торфа оцениваются в 3,0 млрд т, то для промышленной добычи пригодно лишь 240 млн т. Остальные запасы находятся в пределах природоохранных зон или входят в состав земельного фонда.

Залежи горючих сланцев на юге Беларуси образуют крупный сланцевый бассейн площадью более 20 тыс. км2. Горючие сланцы рассматриваются в качестве потенциальной сырьевой базы для развития энергетики, химической промышленности и производства строительных материалов.

Территория Беларуси перспективна на руды черных и цветных металлов. Открыты два месторождения железных руд с общими запасами по категории А+В+С1 — 340 млн. т и прогнозными — 1,5 млрд т, их использование во многом будет определяться решением топливно-энергетической проблемы в стране. 

Производство цементаБеларусь имеет довольно мощную минерально-сырьевую базу для производства строительных материалов. Наиболее значительные запасы цементного сырья, доломита, мела, строительного и облицовочного камня, глин для производства грубой керамики и легких заполнителей, силикатных и строительных песков, песчано-гравийных и других материалов. Вместе с тем ощущается дефицит в стекольных песках, глинах для производства качественного кирпича.

Расширяется исследование и вовлечение в эксплуатацию минеральных подземных вод. Разведано 58 источников минеральных вод с общими запасами 14320,8 м3 в сутки, разрабатывается 50 источников. Минеральные воды используются для целей санаторно-курортного лечения, а также реализуются через торговую сеть в качестве минеральных лечебных и столовых вод.