Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Sport

Popular Sports

Special attention is paid to the development of sport in Belarus. The state supports dozens of sports, first of all, the ones which enter the program of the Olympic Games. The most popular are football, hockey, biathlon and tennis.

Hockey

Hockey is loved in Belarus most of all. The open championship of the country includes two leagues: the Extraleague (division I) and the Major League (division II). 11 teams (10 from Belarus and 1 from Latvia) play in the Extraleague, the competition between which determines the champion of the country.

The leading hockey club of Belarus is “Dinamo-Minsk” which plays in the Kontinental Hockey League (KHL) championship. The team holds home games at “Minsk-Arena” – one of the largest hockey arenas in Europe.

The average attendance of “Dinamo-Minsk” home games in the KHL Championship of 2011/2012 amounted to 14.197 people, in 2010/2011 – 10.538 people. Both indicators are record-breaking for KHL.

National hockey team of Belarus attacks. Photo: interfax.by

But Belarus’ favorite team is the national hockey team. The national team of Belarus held its first game on November 7, 1992, and at the World Championship it was qualified for the third division. In 1997 the team entered the elite division in which it debuted at the World Championship of 1998. The national team of Belarus played 13 World Championships (1998-2001, 2003, 2005–present) in the strongest division. The most successful was the World Championship of 2006 in Riga, when the team placed 6th.

Following the results of the World Championship of 2012, the national team of Belarus places 11th in the world IIHF rating.

Not only professional, but also amateur hockey is developing in Belarus. There is an amateur “Night Hockey League” (NHL) in Minsk. Its games are held late at night. The nationwide hockey tournament “Golden Puck” is held for children and teenagers.

Football

Football is very popular in Belarus, just like in the rest of the world. The program of development of mass football has been passed in Belarus. Football fields are being constructed far and wide. But at the same time, the national championship doesn’t attract fans as much.

The football championship of Belarus includes three leagues. 11 teams participate in the major league, where the champion of the country is determined in the three-round tournament.

In recent years, the football club BATE from Borisov, which became the champion of the country seven times within the last 10 years (from 2002 to 2011), has been the undoubted leader of Belarusian football. BATE is also successful on the international arena: from 2008 to 2012 it has become the participant of the group round of the UEFA Champions League three times, and the group round of the European League – two times. BATE holds the home games of the Champions League in Minsk on the “Dinamo” stadium which holds 30.000 viewers. These games provoke great interest among Belarusian fans.

BATE is the most sensational football team of Europe. Photo: interfax.by

BATE achieved most of all success in the Champions League of 2012 at the start of the group tournament after beating “Lille” of France and Munich’s “Bayern” with an equal score, 3:1.

The national football team of Belarus, which has been headed by Georgy Kondratiev since 2012, hasn’t achieved significant success in its brief history yet and hasn’t participated in top tournaments. But the qualifying games of European and world championships provoke great interest among football fans. Right now the national team of Belarus is participating in the qualifying tournament of the World Championship of 2014 in Brazil, and after winning one victory in 4 games, it places 4th in the qualifying group. As of October 2012, the national team of Belarus places 87th in the FIFA rating.

The national football team of Belarus. Photo: interfax.by

The youth national team of Belarus (U-21) has achieved more success. It played in the final tournaments of European championships three times (2004, 2009 and 2011). In 2004 and 2009 the team wasn’t able to pull through the group stage of the tournament, and in 2011 it became the bronze prize-winner of the championship and won the right to participate at the Olympic Games in London.

At the Olympic Games the team wasn’t able to pull through the group tournament, after beating the national team of New Zealand (1:0) and losing to the teams of Brazil and Egypt with an equal score, 1:3.

The most famous football player of Belarus is Alexander Gleb who played for Germany’s “Stuttgart”, England’s “Arsenal” and Spain’s “Barcelona”. He now plays for BATE.

Biathlon

Biathlete Darya Domracheva is the favorite of Belarusian fans. Photo: interfax.by

Belarusian athletes are traditionally strong in biathlon. Almost all races of the IBU World Cup stages and the World Championships are broadcasted by the Belarusian television live. A lot of biathletes of our country achieved high results in these competitions: Oleg Ryzhenkov, Alexei Aidarov, Svetlana Paramygina, Alexander Popov, Vadim Sashurin have achieved success at the World Cup stages many times.

In recent years the attention of the fans has been focused on Darya Domracheva, one of the strongest biathletes of the world. Her competition with Magdalena Neuner of Germany became the adornment of the 2011/2012 season. In 2012 Darya Domracheva became the world champion in the pursuit race and the bronze prize-winner of the Olympic Games of 2010. The winner of the small crystal globe following the results of the World Cup of 2010/2011 in mass start, of two small crystal globes following the results of the World Cup of 2011/2012 in the pursuit race and the mass start in 2010 was named the best biathlete of the year according to Biathlon-Award. Right after winning the World Championship of 2012, she was awarded with the Order of the Motherland of the III degree.

Since 2012 the men’s national biathlon team of Belarus has been coached by the famous French athlete Rafael Poiree.

Tennis

Maxim Mirny is the tennis legend of Belarus. Photo: interfax.by

Despite the fact that Belarusian tennis doesn’t have such abundant traditions as England and Spain, the sports fans attentively follow the WTA and ATP tournaments. Belarusian athletes enter the elite of world tennis and always pretend to victories in tournaments. Among women it is Victoria Azarenka, the No. 1 in the WTA rating, among men – Maxim Mirny, the longstanding leader of the world doubles rating.

Victoria Azarenka is one of the most famous tennis players of the world, she is the champion of the Australian Open of 2012 among singles. She has won 14 victories in the WTA series tournaments. She was awarded with the Order of the III degree for her victory in the Australian Open.

Victoria Azarenka. Best world tennis player. Photo: daylife.com

During his career, Maxim Mirny won 45 titles in the doubles ATP series tournaments, including 6 victories in the Grand Slam tournaments: four victories in Roland Garros and two victories in the US Open. Moreover, he has 3 victories in mixed Grand Slam tournaments: 2 paired up with Serena Williams and 1 with Victoria Azarenka.

At the Olympic Games in London the two first rackets of the world – Victoria Azarenka and Maxim Mirny – paired up and successfully played in the mixed Olympic tournament and became champions. In the final they beat the British pair Andy Murray / Laura Robson.

Language
Сейчас в Минске   Погода в городах Беларуси

Главная Спорт

Популярные виды спорта

Развитию спорта в Беларуси уделяется особое внимание. Государство поддерживает десятки видов, в первую очередь, входящие в программу Олимпийских игр. Наиболее популярными являются футбол, хоккей, биатлон и теннис.

Хоккей

Самой большой любовью в Беларуси пользуется хоккей. В стране проводится Открытый чемпионат страны, состоящий из двух лиг: Экстралиги (дивизион I) и Высшей лиги (дивизион II). В Экстралиге играют 11 команд (10 – из Беларуси, 1 – из Латвии), в соперничестве которых и определяется чемпион страны.

Ведущий хоккейный клуб Беларуси – «Динамо-Минск» – выступает в чемпионате Континентальной хоккейной лиги (КХЛ). Команда проводит домашние матчи на «Минск-Арене» – одной из крупнейших хоккейных площадок в Европе. «Динамо-Минск» — Чемпион Беларуси (2007), серебряный (2006) и бронзовый (2008) призер чемпионатов Беларуси (2006), двукратный обладатель Кубка Беларуси (2005, 2006). 

За пять сезонов выступления в Континентальной хоккейной лиге (с 2008 года) ХК «Динамо-Минск» дважды добивался участия в плей-офф, где достойно противостоял ярославскому «Локомотиву» и московскому «Динамо».

«Динамо-Минск» является самым популярным клубом КХЛ, средняя посещаемость на домашних матчах «Динамо-Минск» в чемпионате КХЛ 2011/12 составила 14 тыс. 197 человек, в сезоне 2010/11 – 10538 чел. Оба показателя являются рекордными для КХЛ.

«Динамо-Минск» – базовый клуб национальной сборной Республики Беларусь. Также в системе минского клуба действует команда Молодежной хоккейной лиги «Динамо-Шинник» (Бобруйск), являющаяся базовой для молодежной (U-20) сборной Беларуси, и детско-юношеская спортивная школа БФСО «Динамо».

Однако самой любимой командой Беларуси является национальная сборная по хоккею. Сборная Беларуси провела свой первый матч 7 ноября 1992 года, а на Чемпионате мира была определена в третий дивизион. В 1997 году команда вышла в элитный дивизион, в котором дебютировала на ЧМ-1998. В сильнейшем дивизионе сборная Беларуси сыграла на 13 чемпионатах мира (1998-2001, 2003, 2005-настоящее время). Наиболее успешным было выступление на Чемпионате мира-2006 в Риге, на котором команда заняла 6-е место.

Сборная Беларуси выступала на 3 зимних Олимпиадах: в 1998, 2002 и 2010 годах. Наивысшее достижение – 4-е место на зимних Олимпийских играх в Солт-Лейк-Сити. Обыграв в четвертьфинале сборную Швеции, команда Беларуси вышла в полуфинал.

Сборная Беларуси по хоккею атакует. Фото: interfax.by.

Сборная Беларуси выступала на 3 зимних Олимпиадах: в 1998, 2002 и 2010 годах. Наивысшее достижение – 4-е место на зимних Олимпийских играх в Солт-Лейк-Сити. Обыграв в четвертьфинале сборную Швеции, команда Беларуси вышла в полуфинал.

По итогам Чемпионата мира-2012 сборная Беларуси занимает 11-е место в мировом рейтинге ИИХФ.

В Беларуси развивается не только профессиональный, но и любительский хоккей. В Минске существует любительская «Ночная хоккейная лига» (НХЛ). Ее матчи проводятся поздно вечером. На детском и подростковом уровне проводится общенациональный хоккейный турнир «Золотая шайба». 

Футбол

Как и во всем мире, довольно большой популярностью в Беларуси пользуется футбол. В стране принята программа развития массового футбола, повсеместно строятся футбольные поля. В то же время национальный чемпионат не является очень привлекательным для болельщиков.

Чемпионат Беларуси по футболу включает в себя три лиги. В высшей выступает 11 команд, которые в трехкруговом турнире выявляют чемпиона страны.

В последние годы бесспорным лидером белорусского футбола является футбольный клуб «БАТЭ» из Борисова, который за последнее десятилетие (с 2002 по 2011 годы) 7 раз становился чемпионом страны. «БАТЭ» успешно выступает и на международной арене: с 2008 по 2012 год он трижды становился участником группового турнира Лиги чемпионов УЕФА и дважды – группового раунда Лиги Европы. Домашние матчи Лиги чемпионов «БАТЭ» проводит в Минске на 30-тысячном стадионе «Динамо». Эти поединки вызывают огромный интерес среди белорусских болельщиков.

БАТЭ – самая сенсационная футбольная команда Европы. Фото: interfax.by.

Наибольшего успеха в Лиге чемпионов «БАТЭ» добился в 2012 году, на старте группового турнира обыграв французский «Лилль» и мюнхенскую «Баварию» с одинаковым счетом 3:1. 

Национальная сборная Беларуси по футболу, которую с 2012 года возглавляет Георгий Кондратьев, значимых успехов в своей недолгой истории пока не добивалась и участия в топ-турнирах не принимала. Но отборочные поединки чемпионатов Европы и мира всегда вызывают живейший интерес со стороны любителей футбола. Сейчас сборная Беларуси участвует в отборочном турнире Чемпионата мира-2014 в Бразилии и, одержав 1 победу в 4 проведенных матчах, занимает 4-е место в отборочной группе. Сборная Беларуси по состоянию на октябрь 2012 года занимала 87-е место в рейтинге ФИФА.

Национальная сборная Беларуси по футболу. Фото: interfax.by.

Куда больших успехов добивалась молодежная сборная Беларуси (U-21). Она трижды (в 2004, 2009 и 2011 годах) играла в финальных турнирах чемпионатов Европы. В 2004 и 2009 годах команда не сумела преодолеть групповой этап турнира, а в 2011 году стала бронзовым призером чемпионата и завоевала право на выступление на Олимпиаде в Лондоне.

На Олимпийских играх команда не смогла преодолеть групповой турнир, обыграв сборную Новой Зеландии (1:0) и уступив командам Бразилии и Египта с одинаковым счетом 1:3.

Самым известным футболистом Беларуси является Александр Глеб, выступавший ранее за немецкий «Штутгарт», английский «Арсенал» и испанскую «Барселону». Сейчас он является игроком «БАТЭ». 

Биатлон

Биатлонистка Дарья Домрачева – любимица белорусских болельщиков. Фото: interfax.by

Белорусские спортсмены традиционно сильны в биатлоне. Практически все гонки этапов Кубка мира IBU и чемпионата мира белорусское телевидение показывает в прямом эфире. Многие биатлонисты страны добивались высоких результатов в этих соревнованиях: Олег Рыженков, Алексей Айдаров, Светлана Парамыгина, Александр Попов, Вадим Сашурин неоднократно добивались успехов на этапах КМ.

В последние годы все внимание болельщиков приковано к выступлениям Дарьи Домрачевой, одной из сильнейших биатлонисток мира. Ее соперничество с немкой Магдаленой Нойнер стало украшением сезона 2011/2012. Дарья Домрачева в 2012 году стала чемпионкой мира в гонке преследования, является бронзовым призером ОИ-2010. Обладательница малого хрустального глобуса по итогам Кубка мира сезона-2010/11 в масс-старте, двух малых хрустальных глобусов по итогам КМ-2011/12 в гонке преследования и в масс-старте в 2010 году была названа лучшей биатлонисткой года по версии премии Biathlon-Award. Сразу после победы на ЧМ-2012 была награждена орденом Отечества III степени.

Мужскую сборную Беларуси по биатлону с 2012 года тренирует знаменитый французский спортсмен Рафаэль Пуарэ. 

Теннис

Максим Мирный – теннисная легенда Беларуси. Фото: interfax.by

Несмотря на отсутствие в белорусском теннисе таких богатых традиций, какие есть в Англии и Испании, спортивные болельщики внимательно следят за турнирами серий WTA и ATP. Белорусские спортсмены входят в элиту мирового тенниса и всегда претендуют на победы в турнирах. В женском разряде это Виктория Азаренко, № 1 в рейтинге WTA, в мужском – Максим Мирный, многолетний лидер мирового рейтинга в парном разряде.

Виктория Азаренко – одна из самых известных теннисисток мира, чемпионка турнира Australian Open 2012 года в одиночном разряде. Всего на ее счету 14 побед на турнирах серии WTA. За победу на Australian Open награждена орденом Отечества III степени.

Виктория Азаренко. Лучшая теннисистка мира. Фото: daylife.com

Максим Мирный за свою карьеру завоевал 45 титулов в парном разряде турниров серии ATP, в том числе 6 раз побеждал на турнирах Большого шлема: четырежды на Roland Garros и дважды на US Open. Кроме того, в его активе 3 победы на турнирах Большого шлема в смешанном разряде: 2 в паре с Сереной Вильямс и одна с Викторией Азаренко. 

На Олимпийских играх в Лондоне две первые ракетки мира – Виктория Азаренко и Максим Мирный – объединились в дуэт и успешно выступили в миксте олимпийского турнира, став чемпионами. В финале они переиграли британскую пару Энди Маррей / Лора Робсон.