Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Sport Popular sports Basketball

Basketball

Viciebsk is the home of Belarusian basketball. Belarus’ first team (men’s) was created in this city, taking part in the first USSR basketball competition in 1923, where it took third place, behind teams from Moscow and Petrograd.

 

A year later, basketball started to develop in Minsk. In 1928, the women’s national team of Belarus won the first all-Union Spartakiad, while the men’s team came second. By the end of 1929, 2,400 people were playing basketball in Belarus.

 

After WWII, Belarusian teams were performing in Soviet championships but rarely won prizes. It was only in the late 1980s that the women’s team, Gorizont, managed to claim a medal and, in 1989, Minskerins took second place in the USSR championship. In 1991, they came third.

 

Basketball players in dresses

 

Following the disintegration of the Soviet Union, basketball waned in popularity in Belarus. Increased interest began in 1994, when the youth national team of Belarus became champion of Europe. Several Belarusian basketball players were invited to attend American universities and to join NCAA squads. However, none managed to enter the NBA league, and the national team did not manage to repeat its success.

 

The women’s national team (‘the most beautiful team in Belarus’) has seen some success, reaching the European Championship finals in 2006, under coach Anatoĺ Bujaĺski, for the first time. Sensationally, they came third.

 

The women’s national team also reached the Olympic Games in Beijing, and were the first representative in team sports in the history of sovereign Belarus to attend an Olympic event. They reached the quarterfinals, where they lost to the national team of China, with the squad finishing in sixth place.

 

The European Championship of 2009, in Riga, and the world championship in the Czech Republic, in 2010, saw the team take fourth place. Sadly, in 2011, in the European Championship, hosted by Poland, the national team finished a disappointing ninth. Head coach Anatoĺ Bujaĺski left the team, replaced by Lithuanian Rimantas Grigas, who took the squad to the European Championship in 2013, hosted by France.

 

The women’s national basketball team of Belarus is among the top-three most popular national teams. It was among the first national teams to war sports dresses, instead of shirts and shorts.

 

Hostage of three seconds

 

The most well-known Belarusian basketball player is Ivan Jadzieška. He has never played in the NBA; nor did he ever score fifty points during a match. However, he won eight USSR championships, the Cup of Champions and two European championships.

 

He is well-known worldwide thanks to only one pass. In the legendary match between the USSR and the USA, in the final of the Olympic Games in 1972, in Munich, just three seconds before the final whistle, Ivan Jadzieška made a magnificent pass the length of the pitch to Aliaksandr Bieloŭ, who scored, to bring the final result to 52:51, allowing the USSR to win the Olympic tournament for the first time.

 

Basketballer Aliena Lieŭčanka is famous in women’s basketball, having played at the Olympic Games in Beijing, and at European championships in 2007, 2009 and 2011, as part of the national team of Belarus.

 

Aliena has played on the championship teams of Poland, Russia and Lithuania, and has taken part in the finals of the women’s NBA. She has been named the most useful player in the Baltic League in 2000, and, in 2002 and 2003, was among the top ten players within USA colleges, as well as being named ‘best front-court player’ in the 2010 World Championship.

Belarusian national basketball team. Photo by: bbf.by

 

Tsmoki attack!

 

Belarusian basketball has come a long way since the 1990s, proving more popular today. Our best players not only perform for top clubs abroad but protect the colours of Belarusian clubs, lifting the level of the national championship. BC Tsmoki-Minsk has taken Belarus into the VTB United League, uniting the strongest basketball clubs in Eastern Europe.

The successful performance of our women’s national team has drawn fans’ attention, stimulating the popularity of basketball. Student basketball teams are now common, with every higher institution having their own squad.

Language
Сейчас в Минске   Погода в городах Беларуси

Главная Спорт Популярные виды спорта Баскетбол

Баскетбол

Родиной белорусского баскетбола стал Витебск. Именно в этом городе была сформирована первая команда (мужская), которая в 1923 году приняла участие в первых всесоюзных соревнованиях по баскетболу. При этом дружина из скромного белорусского города сумела занять 3-е место, уступив лишь командам Москвы и Петрограда.

Уже через год баскетбол начал активно развиваться в Минске. В 1928 году женская сборная Беларуси заняла 1-е место на первой Всесоюзной спартакиаде, а мужская команда стала второй. В конце 1929 года баскетболом в Беларуси занималось 2,4 тыс. человек.

После Второй мировой войны белорусские команды выступали в чемпионате СССР, однако лидерами не были и в число призеров практически не попадали. Лишь в конце 80-х годов женская команда «Горизонт» сумела впервые подняться на пьедестал: в 1989 году минчанки заняли второе место в чемпионате СССР. В 1991-м они стали третьими.

Баскетболистки в платьях

В постсоветское время баскетбол не входил в число самых популярных игровых видов спорта в Беларуси. Всплеск интереса датируется 1994 годом, когда молодежная сборная Беларуси стала чемпионом Европы. Сразу несколько белорусских баскетболистов были приглашены в университеты США и выступали за местные баскетбольные команды в NCAA. Однако пробиться в НБА белорусы не сумели. Перейдя на уровень национальных сборных, команда не сумела повторить успех.

Куда более успешна женская сборная, которую в стране называют «самая красивая команда Беларуси». В 2006 году белоруски под руководством тренера Анатолия Буяльского впервые попали в финальный турнир чемпионата Европы и сенсационно заняли третье место, завоевав бронзовые медали.

Затем женская сборная пробилась на Олимпиаду в Пекине, став первой в истории суверенной Беларуси командой в игровых видах спорта, завоевавшей право представлять страну на главном старте четырехлетия. Наша команда дошла до четвертьфинала, где проиграла сборной Китая. В итоге белоруски заняли 6-е место.

Далее были 4-е места на чемпионате Европы-2009 в Риге и на чемпионате мира-2010 в Чехии. Однако в 2011-м году на чемпионате Европы в Польше сборная выступила не совсем удачно и стала лишь 9-й. После этого команду покинул главный тренер Анатолий Буяльский. Под руководством нового тренера, литовца Римантаса Григаса, комнада завоевала путевку на чемпионат Европы-2013 во Франции.

Женская сборная Беларуси по баскетболу входит в тройку самых популярных национальных команд.

Стоит отметить, что женская команда Беларуси первой среди всех остальных сборных начала выступать в спортивных платьях, а не в майках и шортах.

Заложник трех секунд

Самым известным белорусским баскетболистом является Иван Едешко. Он не играл в НБА, не забрасывал по 50 очков за матч. Да, он выиграл 8 чемпионатов СССР, Кубок чемпионов и два чемпионата Европы. Но знаменитым во всем мире он стал благодаря одному-единственному пасу. В ставшем уже легендарном матче СССР – США в финале Олимпиады-1972 в Мюнхене Иван Едешко за 3 секунды до конца матча отдал великолепный пас через всю площадку Александру Белову, который и забросил победный мяч, – 52:51. Сборная СССР впервые в своей истории победила на Олимпийском турнире.

В женском баскетболе хорошо известна ныне действующая баскетболистка Елена Левченко. Она участница Олимпийских игр в Пекине, а также чемпионатов Европы 2007, 2009, 2011 гг. в составе национальной сборной Беларуси.

Елена становилась чемпионкой Польши, России, Литвы, была участницей финала женской НБА. Признавалась самой полезной баскетболисткой Балтийской лиги (2000), дважды – в 2002 и 2003 годах – входила в десятку лучших игроков колледжей США. Была признана лучшей центровой чемпионата мира-2010.

Белорусская национальная жеская сборная по баскетболу. Фото: bbf.by

Цмокi атакуют!

В отличие от 90-х годов прошлого века, белорусский баскетбол сегодня находится на подъеме. Лучшие отечественные баскетболисты не только выступают в топ-клубах зарубежья, но и остаются на родине, защищая цвета белорусских клубов, что позволяет поднимать уровень национального чемпионата. БК «Цмоки-Минск» представляет Беларусь в Единой лиге ВТБ – баскетбольном проекте, объединяющем сильнейшие баскетбольные клубы Восточной Европы. 

Успешное выступление женской сборной Беларуси привлекает внимание болельщиков и стимулирует популярность баскетбола. Активно развивается студенческий баскетбол – все вузы Беларуси имеют свои команды.