Language
Now in Minsk   The weather in Belarus

Home Tourism What to see in Belarus: main sightseeing attractions Grodno Region

Grodno Region

Most of the ancient Belarusian castles are located in the Grodno Region: in Krevo, Golshany, Lida, Liubcha, Mir and Novogrudok.

The KrevskyCastle was constructed between 1338 and 1345 by the order of the Grand Duke of Lithuania Olgerd. In 1385, the Kreva Union Act — a treaty on the alliance of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Kingdom of Poland — was signed in the castle. This historic document influenced the fate of all European nations. The Krevsky Castle is the participant and witness of World War I. A protruding iron carcass and concrete slabs can still be seen in one of the destroyed towers of the castle. During the warfare the castle was in the hands of the Germans. To get to the enemy, the Russian artillery was forced to shoot the castle. The Russian military offensive operation in this front sector was headed by the commander of the Western Front, the lieutenant general Denikin, the future famous head of the White Guard.

The GolshanyCastle inspired the famous Belarusian writer Vladimir Korotkevich to create his famous novel “The Black Castle Olshansky”. Some time ago this castle, built for the junior office clerk of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania Pavel Stefan Sapieha in the Renaissance and Mannerism tradition, was considered one of the finest in the Polish-LithuanianCommonwealth. In the 17th century the castle was passed to other owners, and subsequently it frequently changed owners. During the Northern War in the beginning of the 18th century it was severely damaged, but remained inhabited until 1939. During the Soviet era new buildings were built in the village from the bricks of the castle. The ruins of the castle have the status of a state monument. Another attraction of Golshany is the Church of Saint John the Baptist — a magnificent example of Baroque architecture.

One of the oldest Belarusian towns is Lida, where you can see the Castel, founded in 1323 by the order of the Grand Duke Gediminas at the confluence of the rivers Lideyka and Kamenka. This castle was part of the line of defense Novogrudok — Krevo — Medniki (Medininkai) — Troki (Trakai), built to protect the lands of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania from the raids of the crusaders and was a witness to many important historical events. For over a month wedding balls in honor of the wedding of King Jagiello and young Sofia Golshanskaya rumbled in the LidaCastle. The castle survived many sieges and assaults, including the attacks of the Crimean Tatars, crusaders, and during the Northern War — of the Swedes who blew up its towers. In 1794 there was a battle between the rebels of Tadeusz Kosciuszko and the tsarist troops on the territory of the castle. In the 1920’s Polish restorers performed conservation works at the castle. In the 1980’s BSSR restorers restored the walls and the north-eastern tower of the castle. Restoration works continue in the castle. The international festival of medieval culture “The Gediminas Castle” is held in the Castle.

The castle in Liubcha was built in the 1580’s on the high bank of Neman. It was rectangular and surrounded on 3 sides by a graff about 30 meters wide and 7-10 meters deep. On the fourth side the castle was protected by the river. According to documents and graphic materials of the 17th century, the Liubcha Castle had four towers. During the times of Krzysztof Radzivill, the largest Calvinists printing house functioned in the castle.

The composer Nikolai Nabokov — the cousin of the famous writer — was born and spent his childhood in Liubcha. The Liubcha Castle is being restored by efforts of enthusiastic volunteers.

Catholic church in Novogrudok - architectural monument XV-XVIII centuries, BelTA

Novogrudok is one of the most ancient Belarusian towns. The first written mention of it in chronicles was made in 1044 and is associated with the crusade of the Grand Duke Yaroslav the Wise to Lithuania. In the 13th century Novogrudok became the capital of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. After the capital was moved to Vilna (in 1323), Novogrudok remained an essential defensive outpost of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. The ancient center of Novogrudok is the castle. At the beginning of the 11th century wooden fortifications appeared in this place. The first stone tower appeared at the end of the 14th century – the Scale which remained in ruins until today. By the beginning of the 16th century the NovogrudokCastle had seven stone towers and was the most powerful in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. It repeatedly withstood the siege of crusaders, the Mongol-Tatars and Galicia-Volyn dukes. During the Northern War (1700-1721) the castle buildings were destroyed. The silhouette of the undamaged Scale tower is one of the recognizable symbols of Belarus.

Since 2000 festivals of medieval culture and tilting matches have been held near the castle in Novogrudok.

The Mir Castle is a real diamond in the castle crown of Belarus. In 2000, the castle complex “Mir” was included in the UNESCO List of world cultural heritage sites.

The Mir Castle

The castle has been reconstructed, and museum exhibitions and the only castle hotel in the country are located here.

Grodno is the only Belarusian city which preserved two royal castles – the Old and the New Castles and whole ensembles of different architectural styles — from Baroque to constructivism. The Old Castle was built at the end of the 14th – beginning of the 15th century by the order of Duke Vytautas. The thickness of the castle walls reaches 3 meters, the length is about 300 meters. In the second half of the 16th century the Old Castle became the residence of King Stefan Bathory. During the Northern War (1700-1721) the castle was severely damaged and it was decided to build a new castle. In 1925 a historical and archaeological museum opened in the premises of the Old Castle. On the bank of Neman, near the Old Castle is the Church of Boris and Gleb (Kolozhskaya Church) of the 12th century – it is one of the oldest shrines in Belarus. The historic center of the city is the Sovetskaya Square, which partly preserved the West European design of the 15-17th centuries. The Cathedral of Saint Francisk Ksaveria, one of the most magnificent monuments of Baroque in Belarus, is located here.

Language
Сейчас в Минске   Погода в городах Беларуси

Главная Туризм Что можно посмотреть в Беларуси: основные достопримечательности Гродненская область

Гродненская область

На территории Гродненской области находится большинство древних белорусских замков: в Крево, Гольшанах, Лиде, Любче, Мире и Новогрудке.

Кревский замок был построен между 1338 и 1345 гг. по приказу великого князя литовского Ольгерда. В 1385 г. в замке был подписан акт Кревской унии  договор о союзе Великого княжества Литовского и Польского королевства. Этот исторический документ повлиял на судьбы всех европейских держав. Кревский замок – участник и свидетель Первой мировой войны. В одной из разрушенных башен замка до сих пор можно увидеть торчащую железную арматуру и бетонные плиты. В ходе военных действий замок оказался в руках немцев. Чтобы добраться до неприятеля, российская артиллерия вынуждена была расстрелять замок. Наступательной операцией российских войск на этом участке фронта руководил командующий Западным фронтом генерал-лейтенант Деникин, будущий знаменитый руководитель Белой гвардии.

Гольшанский замок вдохновил известного белорусского писателя Владимира Короткевича на создание знаменитого романа «Черный замок Ольшанский». Когда-то этот замок, построенный для подканцлера Великого княжества Литовского Павла Стефана Сапеги в традициях ренессанса и маньеризма, считался одним из красивейших в Речи Посполитой. В XVII в. замок перешел к другим владельцам и впоследствии часто менял хозяев. Во времена Северной войны в начале XVIII в. он был сильно поврежден, однако оставался жилым вплоть до 1939 г. В советское время из кирпичей замка строили новые здания в деревне. Руины замка имеют статус государственного памятника. Еще одна достопримечательность Гольшан, костел святого Иоанна Крестителя, – великолепный образец архитектуры барокко.

Один из самых древних белорусских городов  Лида, где можно увидеть замок-кастель, заложенный в 1323 г. по приказу великого князя Гедимина на слиянии рек Лидейка и Каменка. Этот замок входил в оборонительную линию Новогрудок  Крево  Медники (Медининкай)  Троки (Тракай), построенную для защиты земель Великого княжества Литовского от набегов крестоносцев и являлся свидетелем множества важных исторических событий. В Лидском замке больше месяца гремели свадебные балы в честь свадьбы короля Ягайло и юной Софьи Гольшанской. Замок пережил множество осад и штурмов, в том числе нападения крымских татар, крестоносцев, а во время Северной войны  шведов, взорвавших его башни. В 1794 г. на территории замка произошло сражение между повстанцами Тадеуша Костюшко и царскими войсками. В 20-е гг. XX в. польские реставраторы провели консервационные работы в замке. В 1980-е гг. реставраторы БССР восстановили стены и северо-восточную башню замка. Реставрационные работы в замке продолжаются. В стенах замка проводится международный фестиваль средневековой культуры «Замок Гедимина».

Замок в Любче был построен в 80-е гг. XVIв. на высоком берегу Немана. Он имел прямоугольную форму и был окружен с 3 сторон рвом шириной около 30 м и глубиной 7–10 м. С четвертой стороны замок защищала река. По документам и графическим материалам XVII века, в Любчанском замке было четыре башни. При Крыштофе Радзивилле в замке действовала крупнейшая типография кальвинистов.

Фарный костел  в Новогрудке - памятник архитектуры XV–XVIII веков, БелТА

В Любче родился и провел детство композитор Николай Набоков – двоюродный брат знаменитого писателя. Любчанский замок реставрируется силами энтузиастов-волонтеров.

Новогрудок – один из самых древних белорусских городов. Первое письменное упоминание о нем в летописях относится к 1044 г. и связано с походом великого князя киевского Ярослава Мудрого на Литву. В XIII в. Новогрудок становится столицей Великого княжества Литовского. После переноса столицы в Вильно (1323) Новогрудок продолжает играть важную роль как оборонительный форпост ВКЛ. Древний центр Новогрудка – замок. В начале XI в. на этом месте возникли деревянные укрепления. В конце XIV в. появилась первая каменная башня – Щитовка, дошедшая до наших дней в руинах. К началу XVI в. Новогрудский замок имел семь каменных башен и был самым мощным в ВКЛ. Он неоднократно выдерживал осады крестоносцев, монголо-татар и галицко-волынских князей. Во время Северной войны (1700–1721) замковые сооружения были разрушены. Силуэт уцелевшей башни Щитовки – один из узнаваемых символов Беларуси. 

С 2000 г. у подножия замка в Новогрудке проводятся фестивали средневековой культуры и рыцарские турниры.

Мирский замок  настоящий брильянт в замковой короне Беларуси. В 2000 г. замковый комплекс «Мир» включен в Список памятников мирового культурного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Мирский замок – замковый комплекс в поселке Мир, Гродненской области Республики Беларусь.

Сегодня в стенах замка завершена реконструкция, здесь размещаются музейные экспозиции и единственный в стране замковый отель. Красоты Мирского замка можно увидеть здесь

Гродно  единственный белорусский город, в котором сохранились два королевских замка  Старый и Новый и целые ансамбли самых разных архитектурных стилей  от барокко до конструктивизма. Старый замок был возведен в конце XIV  начале XV вв. по приказу князя Витовта. Толщина замковых стен достигает 3 м, протяженность  около 300 м. Во второй половине XVI в. Старый замок стал резиденцией короля Стефана Батория. В ходе сражений Северной войны (1700–1721) замок сильно пострадал, и было принято решение о строительстве Нового замка. В 1925 г. в помещениях Старого замка открылся историко-археологический музей. На берегу Немана, неподалеку от Старого замка, находится Борисоглебская (Коложская) церковь XII в., одна из старейших в Беларуси святынь. Исторический центр города  Советская площадь, частично сохранившая западноевропейскую планировку XV–XVII вв. Здесь находится Кафедральный костел Св. Франциска Ксаверия, один из самых великолепных памятников барокко на территории Беларуси.